What is the Light of Christ Ecumenical Catholic Community?


  • We recognize all Christian denominations as part of Christ’s Church.
  • We share space with Bethlehem Lutheran Church as well as join them for various ecumenical ministries and liturgies.
  • We seek mutual understanding and respect with those of other religions through dialogue and we seek mutual cooperation in the endeavor for peace and justice in our world.


We uphold Catholic tradition with respect to the following principles:

  • The teachings and person of Jesus Christ
  • The Old and New Testaments
  • The Nicene Creed
  • The sacramental and liturgical tradition practiced
  • Apostolic tradition and succession affirmed


  • We are a body of Christians sharing a Catholic understanding and expression of our common faith and discipline. We are called to demonstrate a call to compassion and holiness.
  • We recognize that each baptized person is an equal member of the Catholic Church. No bishop, priest, or deacon owns the Church, the sacramental ministry, or the grace of Christ. Therefore, lay people play an important and prominent role in the governance of the Church.
  • We believe that power and authority from the Spirit are centered in lay and clergy collaboration. All persons are equally called to ministry, sharing their particular gifts with the congregation and the broader world.
  • We celebrate an authentic Catholic identity that recognizes the spiritual leadership of the Pope, yet is under the independent authority of Bishop Peter Hickman, the Presiding Bishop of the Ecumenical Catholic Communion (ECC). For more information about the ECC, please go to www.catholiccommunion.org.

We are concerned, committed Catholics forging a path toward the reform and renewal of the Church.

We support such necessary and just changes as:

  • Giving women the opportunity to serve God's people as ordained ministers.
  • Allowing priests to marry and raise families of their own.
  • Freely giving Jesus' gift of Eucharist to all people and welcoming them to the celebration of the sacraments.
  • Recognizing the dignity of all human beings regardless of their race, national origin, gender or sexual orientation.
  • Willingness to "live in the question", engaging in prayerful discernment with individuals and the people of God in regard to divorce and remarriage, family planning, and same-sex relationships.